HomoBLABLAtus

HomoBLABLAtus, for three dancers and two actor-musicians, examines the possibilities and modes of artistic expression and questions the relationship between emptiness and overflowing in a world this is brimming with symbols.

Homoblablatus: n. singular – Sub-species of Homo Sapiens (also called homoblablator) manifesting hyperactivity of the buccolabial organ and presenting symptoms of addiction to all forms of verbal expression, alongside an extreme fear of silence. His approach to the world is voluntarily childlike and playful; he leads a temperate and interconnected existence and has developed an advanced model for survival based on an invented language called blablaterie.

The discovery of Homoblablatus, ultimate incarnation of the human race, has forced us to question the weight of our words and our behaviour. It also invites us to seek out pristine spaces or white pages where the spoken word can resonate and the written word can permeate.

2013
/
70 minutes
CREDITS

An original creation of Myriam Allard and Hedi Graja
On stage Myriam Allard, Aurélie Brunelle, Hedi Graja and Miguel Medina
With the special collaboration of Antonio Arrebola
Direction and scenography Hedi Graja
Choreography Myriam Allard
Music Caroline Planté, José Sanchez
Lights Laurent Routhier/Projet Blanc
Costume Susana Vera
Sound Design Jonathan Parant, Miguel Medina, Patrice D’Aragon
Video Geneviève Allard
Text Frédéric Blanchette
Voice-over Frédéric Blanchette and Catherine Allard
Technical and sound direction Michel Coulombe
Lighting and video control Hugo Ralet

PARTNERS

HomoBLABLAtus was created in coproduction with Danse Danse and La Place des Arts (Montréal, Québec, Canada). La Otra Orilla has received the support of Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, Canada Council for the Arts, Conseil des Arts de Montréal et Segal Centre for the Arts Segal.

4

Jun

2015

Maison de la culture Frontenac
MONTRÉAL

21

Nov

2014

Place des Arts, CINARS
MONTRÉAL

20

Nov

2014

Place des Arts, CINARS
MONTRÉAL

15

Feb

2013

DanceWorks
TORONTO

14

Feb

2013

DanceWorks
TORONTO

5

Feb

2013

Le Théâtre Centennial
SHERBROOK

26

Jan

2013

Place des Arts
Danse Danse
MONTRÉAL

25

Jan

2013

Place des Arts
Danse Danse
MONTRÉAL

“With HomoBLABLAtus, La Otra Orilla outdoes itself. We already loved its verve and the way its founders and their collaborators experiment freely with flamenco grammar… In this new creation, their mastery is enriched by a frank audacity.”

La presse

“A big favourite: HomoBLABLAtus is a great new flamenco show. Hats off to La Otra Orilla!”

Radio-Canada

CONTACT

HomoBLABLAtus

HomoBLABLAtus, oeuvre transdisciplinaire pour trois danseurs et deux musiciens-actants, teste les possibilités et les modalités de l’expression artistique, et interroge les rapports avec le vide et le trop plein dans un monde de surabondance de signes.

HomoBLABLAtus : n.m. singuliersous genre de l’espèce homo- (appelé aussi homoblablator) manifestant une hypertrophie de l’appareil bucco-labial et présentant les symptômes d’une dépendance à toute manifestation de la parole, accompagnée d’une phobie extrême du silence. Son univers est volontiers enfantin et ludique. Il vit en milieu tempéré, interconnecté, et a développé un système raffiné de résilience sous une forme de communication originale, la blablaterie.

La découverte de l’HomoBLABLAtus, ultime avatar de l’espèce humaine, nous renvoie à de multiples questionnements sur le poids du mot et du geste, et à la recherche d’espaces vierges, de pages blanches où la parole pourrait résonner et nos encres s’imprégner.

2013
/
70 minutes
CRÉDITS

Une création de Myriam Allard et Hedi Graja
Sur scène Myriam Allard, Aurélie Brunelle, Hedi Graja et Miguel Medina
Avec la collaboration spéciale de Antonio Arrebola
Mise en scène et scénographie Hedi Graja
Chorégraphie Myriam Allard
Musique Caroline Planté, José Sanchez
Éclairages Laurent Routhier/Projet Blanc
Costumes Susana Vera
Sound Design Jonathan Parant, Miguel Medina, Patrice D’Aragon
Vidéos Geneviève Allard
Texte Frédéric Blanchette
Voix Off Frédéric Blanchette et Catherine Allard
Direction technique et sonorisation Michel Coulombe
Régie éclairages et vidéo Hugo Ralet

PARTENAIRES

La création d’HomoBLABLAtus a été réalisée en coproduction avec Danse Danse et la Place des Arts. La Otra Orilla a également reçu le soutien du Centre Segal, du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts du Canada et du Conseil des arts de Montréal.

4

Juin

2015

Maison de la culture Frontenac
MONTRÉAL

21

Nov

2014

Place des Arts, CINARS
MONTRÉAL

20

Nov

2014

Place des Arts, CINARS
MONTRÉAL

15

Fév

2013

DanceWorks
TORONTO

14

Fév

2013

DanceWorks
TORONTO

5

Fév

2013

Le Théâtre Centennial
SHERBROOK

26

Jan

2013

Place des Arts
Danse Danse
MONTRÉAL

25

Jan

2013

Place des Arts
Danse Danse
MONTRÉAL

« Avec HomoBLABLAtus, La Otra Orilla se surpasse. On aimait déjà sa verve et la façon dont ses fondateurs et leurs collaborateurs expérimentent librement avec la grammaire flamenca… Dans cette nouvelle création, leur maîtrise s’enrichit d’une franche audace. »

La presse

« Un gros coup de cœur : HomoBLABLAtus est un grand spectacle de flamenco renouvelé. Chapeau bas à La Otra Orilla ! »

Radio-Canada